Wk 10 – Activity – Student Choice

For this week, we got to decide what we wanted to do for our activity. My sister-in-law is having a baby girl pretty soon and I’ve always wanted to try to make hair bows for the past 4 years. So I decided to make Disney hairband with bows. I gathered my materials from different places. I got the regular black headbands from the 99cent store, Disney fabric from the swap meet and a glue gun and glue from Michaels. I didn’t know how to make bows so I looked on YouTube for some tutorials. At first, I just watched the video to see how easy/difficult it would be. After watching the video, I was confused on how they made the bows so beautiful in such a little bit of time. So what I decided to do was watch the video and make the bows at the same time. I stopped the video multiple times so that I won’t make a mistake. The hardest thing for me to do was the actual bow itself. To get the piece of fabric cut the right size to make the all the bows come out the same was really difficult. But after I got past cutting all the pieces for the bows, making the bows turned out to be a little bit easier. This activity took me about an hour long each headband, compared to the 15 minutes that someone on YouTube completed it in. But I’m a beginner and I know that with time and more practice I will be able to make more bows within an hour. I spent a total of five bows and they all came out nice. I might end up making more bows and sell them to make a little extra cash on the side.

Published by

Leave a comment